Author Topic: Connector pieces for custom vehicle  (Read 2220 times)

Offline mwilbury

• Playmo Enthusiast
Connector pieces for custom vehicle
« on: May 05, 2010, 07:28:46 »
Hi gang, I'm about to try my hand at customizing a vehicle or two, and I'm looking for ways to affix a custom piece to the vehicle body using DS parts.  In this case, I am adding a fuel tank to a helicopter, but it could apply to additional customizations.  I've attached a simple diagram of what i'm trying to accomplish here.

Of course, I can just hot glue it or epoxy it together, but I'd prefer to stick with Playmobil parts and methods as much as possible (also would be nice if the pieces were removeable). 

I'm new to the Playmobil scene and pretty oblivious to Steck and System X stuff.  Any part number suggestions?

Offline Wolf Knight

• Playmo Guru
Re: Connector pieces for custom vehicle
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2010, 07:31:53 »
The design depends much on what helicopter you want to put this fuel tank on....since playmobil has produuced a variety of helicopters...Once we determine that i think we can proceed with the parts that you might need.... ;)

Offline mwilbury

• Playmo Enthusiast
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2010, 07:34:34 »
I am using the 7885 Classic Helicopter.  I'll be mounting it just behind the cockpit.

Offline playmofire

• Klicky Firemeister
  • Playmo Guru
    • Copt Hewick Volunteer Fire Brigade - probably the world's smallest fire brigade!
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2010, 08:43:42 »
One way would be to use a yellow System-X connector, but that would mean drilling a hole in the helicopter.  If you don't want to do that, then glueing a red System-X connector to the helicopter is another possibility.  System-X connectors fix through a hole you would need to drill in the tank and in the helicopter if you used the first option.  It is a circular hole with squared off corners, if you follow.  The diameter is either 7mm or 7.5mm.  You'll need to experiment!